DFID Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme at UK Universities

UK Department for International Development (DFID), in joint support of UK universities, is offering fully funded Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters study in the UK for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK.

Scholarship Type:

Masters Degree

Field of study:

Eligible Master’s courses in all participating UK universities are in this link.

Scholarship Benefits:

Each Scholarship provides tuition and examination fees, airfare from your home country to the UK and returns at the end of your award, stipend, warm clothing allowance, study travel grant, and excess baggage allowance.

The scholarships are usually tenable for one year only.

To be taken in(Country):

United Kingdom

Scholarship Number :

Around 200+ scholarships.

Eligible Nationality:

  • Bangladesh
  • Cameroon
  • Eswatini
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia


Applicants must meet the following:

To apply for the scholarship, the candidate

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK, or remotely if required, by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2023
  • By September 2023, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard or a second class degree and relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
  • Be unable to afford to study at a UK university without this scholarship
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Application Deadline:

All applications must be submitted by 16:00 (BST) on 9 April 2023 at the latest.

Application Procedure: 

You can apply for more than one taught Master’s course and/or to more than one university though the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship. These scholarships do not cover undergraduate courses, Ph.D. study, or any pre-sessional English language teaching and are usually tenable for one year only.

View the full list of eligible courses.

You must also secure admission to your course and apply for a Shared Scholarship. You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice on when to apply, admission requirements, and rules for applying.

View a full list of university contact details

You must make your application using the CSC’s online application system, in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system.

It is essential to read the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Terms and Conditions and visit the official website (link found below) for more information on how to apply for this scholarship.


Official Scholarship Website:  http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/

Comments are closed.

DISCLOSURE: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we receive a commission.

You May Also Like