ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence In African Storytelling 2022 For African Journalists

Application for ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence In African Storytelling 2022 is ongoing!

The contest is named after late British journalist and longtime ICFJ board member Michael Elliott.

To apply for this award, you have to meet the eligibility criteria. Read through to see the requirements and how to apply.

About the ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling 

The Award was established in honor of Michael Elliott, an outstanding editor, philanthropist, and former ICFJ director, whose life was a testament to the power of storytelling to bear witness to and improve the human condition.

Elliott served as a distinguished editor at The Economist, Newsweek, and Time before becoming CEO of ONE. In 2016, he had spoken of his dream to establish an award that would bring together his belief in great journalism with his commitment to progress in Africa.

This prestigious annual award honors emerging journalists in Africa who strive to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent. 

Type: Contest

ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award- Eligibility 

  • The ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. We are looking for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those that illuminate transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations. We welcome submissions from print, broadcast or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual or mixed media.

A distinguished international jury including media leaders from the US, UK, and Africa will select the winners.

Number of Awards: 1

Value of ICFJ/ONE/Michael Elliott Award

This prestigious annual award honors an emerging journalist in Africa who strives to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent. 

In a special study tour organized by ICFJ, past winners have spent time in U.S. newsrooms in Washington, D.C., and New York City to learn new skills and share knowledge. In 2019, the winner also completed a two-week internship at The Economist’s headquarters in London, United Kingdom.

Due to ongoing travel restrictions as a result of COVID-19, the 2021 program will take place virtually. ICFJ will arrange a series of approximately 10 virtual meetings over the course of the fellowship, featuring media and experts from U.S. and U.K. newsrooms as well as former Michael Elliott Award winners.

ICFJ will tailor these sessions to the interests of the award winners. The sessions will include meetings with journalists from prominent international outlets, such as the Washington Post, The Economist, Al Jazeera and others.

The winners will be invited to take part in a virtual internship with prestigious media outlets where they will have access to editorial meetings and media experts and share their own experiences with top journalists.

To take full advantage of the training opportunities offered, applicants must speak English, even if they work in another language. The two 2022 winners will also receive a $5,000 cash prize. 

How to Apply

APPLY HERE if you meet the criteria above.

Application Deadline

Application Deadline for this award is 30th January 2022 at 11:59 pm EST

The submitted story must be published between December 1, 2020, and December 1, 2021

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Frequently Asked Questions

28th January 2022

Tuition fees and living expenses

African Journalists







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *