Coastal Truck Driving School Reviews: Admissions, Cost, Length


The trucking industry in Louisiana has grown significantly over the last decade. Because of the growth of this industry, the state of Louisiana has increased transportation funding.

However, to start your trucking career, you must first go through a good trucking driving school. It will make getting your CDL (commercial driver’s license) more straightforward.

Most of the time, earning your CDL is a worrying and vigorous process. But Coastal truck driving school, which is well-known in Louisiana, makes it easy.

If you are interested in Coastal truck driving school, this article is a must-read. Cause we’ll review everything about them here.

Read: How to Start a Food Truck Business in 2022: The Ultimate Guide, Step-by-Step

Where is Coastal Truck Driving School Located?

One of the deciding factors when looking for the best truck driving school to get proper education is location. After all, you don’t want to drive twice daily to get to the training facilities and begin your day’s lessons.

It’s also challenging if you have a full-time job and want to pursue a truck driving career while working eight hours a day. Coastal Truck Driving School has its location in Louisiana. The school has six locations spread across the state of Louisiana. The places are:

  • Baton Rouge, LA–2064 North Flannery RD.
  • Hammond, LA–42226 S Airport Rd.
  • Harvey, LA–1182 1st Avenue.
  • Lafayette, LA–2419 I-49 South Service Road.
  • Monroe, LA–450 Hwy 151 North.
  • Alexandria, LA – 7516 Coliseum Blvd.

Coastal Truck Driving School also offers classes online. This school provides training in 22 qualifications, the most popular of which are Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class A, Manual, Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class A, and Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Class A. (CDL).

Furthermore, the school provides free housing. The rooms are nothing to write about, but if you’ve ever been in a dorm, you’ll be fine. All rooms include a large refrigerator, a TV, and a microwave.

See Also: Highest Paid Truck Drivers in the World | 10 Best countries

What to Expect at Coastal Truck Driving School

They provide course flexibility to fit your lifestyle and current commitments, including day, night, and weekend classes for both full-time and part-time students. Their most popular training program is a four-week (160-hour) course with qualified instructors.

Their instructors and staff are available to you throughout the program. They have a Placement Department that will work with you after you graduate to ensure you start your new career on the right foot.

Their truck driving schools in Louisiana welcome veterans to their educational program. Tuition assistance programs are available for veterans who apply to Coastal Truck Driving School.

The most frequently mentioned benefits of attending Coastal Truck Driving School are “Good teachers” and “Good career preparation,” but respondents also said “Hands-on training” and “Helpful career services.”

They got their license from the Board of Regents of the State of Louisiana and the Commission on Proprietary School and College Registration of the State of Mississippi, License #C 122.

The State of Louisiana has approved Coastal Truck Driving School as a third-party tester for CDL licensing. They have the authority to administer tests for license classes A, B, and C.

Read: Get Paid To Drive Your Car | Up To $50 Per Hour 

What Are Coastal Truck Driving School Admission Requirements?

  • The applicant must submit an Admissions Application.
  • Before enrollment, the applicant must have a valid driver’s license.
  • The applicant must have a social security card.
  • The applicant must meet the requirements of Section 391 of the Motor Carrier Federal Safety Regulations.
  • A clean driving record is a must for the applicant. No DWI/DUI violations in the last five years; no more than three moving violations in the previous three years, with no more than two in the last year.
  • Applicants with felony convictions will get reviewed case by case to determine their likelihood of job placement.
  • Unless prohibited by age, the applicant must have a verifiable work history dating back ten years, unless the history dates back to the time the applicant left school. Unemployment will also necessitate verification.
  • The applicant must be at least 21 years old. There are exceptions for people over 18 who can demonstrate their ability to benefit from the program and provide a genuine pre-hire letter as a commercial driver.

See Also: Get Paid To Advertise On Your Car

What Are The Pros And Cons of Enrolling in Coastal Truck Driving School?

Here are some advantages of enrolling in Coastal Truck Driving School:

1. Excellent educators, positive surroundings, excellent career preparation, and practical instruction.

2. They have a friendly and supportive staff.

3. They assist in locating new jobs.

4. Flexible course schedule.

5. They have up to 35 years of experience.

6. If you complete a program, it means you’ve received the necessary training. And you’ll most likely be ready to get your license and drive anywhere.

Here are some disadvantages of enrolling in Coastal Truck Driving School:

1. Cost Prohibitive: Enrolling in a truck driving school usually costs ample money. It’s not feasible for a lot of individuals.

2. Time Consuming: Some CDL training programs can take months to complete. Not every prospective driver has the time or means to devote that much time away from work to school.

Read: How to make Extra Money Driving with Uber on Weekends

What Does Coastal Truck Driving Schools Cost?

Depending on the qualification, the cost of attending Coastal Truck Driving School ranges from $250 to $7,500, with a median price of $5,000. High tuition costs are one of the key factors that can prevent you from reaching your goals.

However, if you are considering applying to Coastal truck driving school, numerous state and federal programs can assist you with funding.

The school is authorized to provide training for the following national and state programs:

  • Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act – WIOA
  • Louisiana Rehabilitation Services – LARehab VA/GI Bill
  • Motivational Education and Training, Inc. – MET

Another option is to approach a trucking company directly. Many of these businesses are willing to finance their prospective employees with a tuition reimbursement package worth up to $7,500.

It would be an excellent way to secure a job before even graduating, in addition to helping you pay for your training.

See Also: Best Ways to Get Paid to Drive a Car Across Country in 2022

What is Coastal Truck Driving School Course Length?

The education training offered by Coastal Truck Driving School can get completed in as little as one hour or as many as three months, depending on the qualification; however, the average amount of time required is one month.

Coastal truck driving schools offer weekday courses. Night and weekend classes get provided at the training centers in Lafayette, Baton Rouge, and Harvey, so if you already have a full-time job or, for any other reason, are unable to attend classes during the week, you still have options.

If you already have a commercial driver’s license but haven’t been behind the wheel in a while, you can take advantage of Coastal’s “refresher course.” This class will get you back on track, help you regain your confidence and sense of security, and make you more marketable to potential employers.

  • Weekday Course: 160 Hours; Duration: 4 Weeks.
  • Weekend Course – 160 hours – 8 weeks long.
  • Evening Course – 160 hours – 8 weeks long.

Read: 10 Best Tools For Working On Cars In 2022 | Best Tools

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a trucking school in Louisiana cost?

In Louisiana, the famous Class A CDL costs around $6,361. Endorsements for passenger transportation, hazardous materials transport, tankers, and other industry services may necessitate additional fees.

How do I get a free CDL license in Louisiana?

The “Drive Your Future” program will pay for qualified students from across Louisiana to attend truck driving schools and earn their CDL.

How long does CDL training last in Louisiana?

The evening program will last eight weeks and require 160 clock hours. The Advanced CDL Driver Training Program is a 20-week, 600-hour course that will teach you everything you need to know to become a truck driver.

What is the cost of a CDL permit in Louisiana?

At the time of application, all applicants must pay the $15 application fee (Louisiana only accepts cash) and the $41 CDL license fee. If you apply for any endorsements, there will be a $5 fee per endorsement.

What is the highest CDL license available?

A Class C CDL is the final license class and covers everything else that Class A and B do not. It allows the holder to drive any vehicle with a GVWR of fewer than 26,000 pounds as long as the towed vehicle has a GVWR of fewer than 10,000 pounds.

In Louisiana, what jobs require a CDL?

Any combination of vehicle(s) weighing 26,001 or more pounds requires a CDL. A CDL is also required for vehicles transporting hazardous materials or carrying 16 passengers. CDL laws do not apply to emergency responders or military personnel.


There are thousands of schools that offer CDL training, and each one has its perks. However, Coastal Truck Driving School is top-ranked among the best trucking schools in Louisiana; you should consider them and, if possible, give them a chance.


  • Coastal truck driving school in Baton Rouge.


1 comment

Comments are closed.

DISCLOSURE: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we receive a commission.

You May Also Like